Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
The Independent UK
The Independent UK
Ed Elliot

Robbie Henshaw and Joey Carbery miss out as Andy Farrell names Ireland Six Nations squad

Getty Images

Robbie Henshaw and Joey Carbery have been left out of Ireland’s 37-man squad for the Six Nations but there is a place for uncapped Leinster back Jamie Osborne.

Centre Henshaw has endured an injury-hit season and is currently sidelined with a wrist issue, while Ross Byrne and Jack Crowley have been selected ahead of Carbery as fly-half cover for captain Johnny Sexton.

Osborne, 21, is the only Test newcomer picked by Andy Farrell on the back of his standout performances for his province.

Sexton, who underwent surgery after suffering a cheekbone problem on New Year’s Day, and prop Tadhg Furlong (ankle and calf) are also among the 20 Leinster players called upon as they recover from injuries.

Ireland, who top the world rankings and won the Triple Crown last year, begin their campaign on February 4 against Wales in Cardiff.

Experienced Munster pair Keith Earls and Conor Murray and Connacht centre Bundee Aki also make the cut, despite a lack of recent action at club level.

Ulster forwards Nick Timoney and Kieran Treadwell are among the other players to miss out.

Head coach Farrell told the Irish Rugby Football Union website: “The Six Nations is a huge competition for us and another opportunity for us to grow as group.

“2022 was a busy year as we got to work with a larger group of players as we continued to build our squad depth and competition for places.

“While there are a few players carrying knocks and others that have missed out on selection for the start of the tournament, they will have the opportunity to push their case playing for their provinces in the URC (United Rugby Championship) over the coming weeks as no doubt we will need to call upon the wider group as the tournament progresses.”

Ireland squad for Six Nations:

Backs: Bundee Aki (Connacht), Ross Byrne (Leinster), Craig Casey (Munster), Jack Crowley (Munster), Keith Earls (Munster), Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster), Mack Hansen (Connacht), Hugo Keenan (Leinster), Jordan Larmour (Leinster), James Lowe (Leinster), Stuart McCloskey (Ulster), Conor Murray (Munster), Jimmy O’Brien (Leinster), Jamie Osborne (Leinster), Garry Ringrose (Leinster), Johnny Sexton (Leinster), Jacob Stockdale (Ulster)

Forwards: Ryan Baird (Leinster), Finlay Bealham (Connacht), Tadhg Beirne (Munster), Jack Conan (Leinster), Gavin Coombes (Munster), Caelan Doris (Leinster), Tadhg Furlong (Leinster), Cian Healy (Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ulster), Rob Herring (Ulster), Ronan Kelleher (Leinster), Dave Kilcoyne (Munster), Joe McCarthy (Leinster), Peter O’Mahony (Munster), Tom O’Toole (Ulster), Andrew Porter (Leinster), Cian Prendergast (Connacht), James Ryan (Leinster), Dan Sheehan (Leinster), Josh van der Flier (Leinster)

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.