Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
The Independent UK
The Independent UK
Harry Latham-Coyle

Premier League Golden Boot standings: Can anyone challenge Erling Haaland?

Getty Images

Erling Haaland is set to win a second consecutive Premier League Golden Boot award as the title race goes down to the final day.

Manchester City will be champions for the fourth year in a row should they beat West Ham United at home, giving Haaland further incentive to bolster his tally.

Ahead of the final day, Haaland has scored 27 goals in just 30 Premier League appearances this season - putting the Norwegian five goals clear of his closest challenger, Chelsea’s Cole Palmer. Newcastle’s Alexander Isak is on 20 Premier League goals, while Aston Villa’s Ollie Watkins and Bournemouth’s Dominic Solanke are on 19.

Haaland scored a record 36 goals in his debut Premier League campaign last season. In total, Erling Haaland has scored 63 goals in his first 65 Premier League games - the most of any player in his first two seasons in the division.

And barring a remarkable haul of goals elsewhere, a second Premier League Golden Boot award is set to Haaland’s as well.

Here’s how the top scorer standings sit:

27 goals: Erling Halaand (Manchester City)

22 goals: Cole Palmer (Chelsea)

20 goals: Alexander Isak (Newcastle)

19 goals: Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa), Dominic Solanke (Bournemouth)

18 goals: Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

17 goals: Son Heung-min (Tottenham), Phil Foden (Manchester City)

16 goals: Jarrod Bowen (West Ham), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)

Which players have won the Golden Boot in the past?

Season Player Club Goals
1992/93 Teddy Sheringham NFO/TOT 22*
1993/94 Andrew Cole NEW 34*
1994/95 Alan Shearer BLA 34*
1995/96 Alan Shearer BLA 31
1996/97 Alan Shearer NEW 25
1997/98 Dion Dublin/Michael Owen/Chris Sutton COV/LIV/BLA 18
1998/99 Michael Owen/Dwight Yorke/Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink LIV/MUN/LEE 18
1999/00 Kevin Phillips SUN 30
2000/01 Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink CHE 23
2001/02 Thierry Henry ARS 24
2002/03 Ruud van Nistelrooy MUN 25
2003/04 Thierry Henry ARS 30
2004/05 Thierry Henry ARS 25
2005/06 Thierry Henry ARS 27
2006/07 Didier Drogba CHE 20
2007/08 Cristiano Ronaldo MUN 31
2008/09 Nicolas Anelka CHE 19
2009/10 Didier Drogba CHE 29
2010/11 Carlos Tevez/Dimitar Berbatov MCI/MUN 20
2011/12 Robin van Persie ARS 30
2012/13 Robin van Persie MUN 26
2013/14 Luis Suarez LIV 31
2014/15 Sergio Aguero MCI 26
2015/16 Harry Kane TOT 25
2016/17 Harry Kane TOT 29
2017/18 Mohamed Salah LIV 32
2018/19 Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang/Sadio Mane/Mohamed Salah ARS/LIV/LIV 22
2019/20 Jamie Vardy LEI 23
2020/21 Harry Kane TOT 23
2021/22 Mohamed Salah/Son Heung-min LIV/TOT 23
2022/23 Erling Haaland MCI 36
Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.