100s of titles, one news app for just $10 a month.
Dive Deeper:
Get all your news in one place
Latest Sport news:
PGA Championship: Mito Pereira takes three-shot lead into final round over Matt Fitzpatrick and Will Zalatoris
Mito Pereira will take a three-shot lead into the final round of the PGA Championship as he goes in search…
Read news from The Economist, FT, Bloomberg and more, with one subscription
Learn More
FC Barcelona 1-3 Lyon: Ada Hegerberg stars in stunning Women’s Champions League final success
Ada Hegerberg played a starring role as Lyon stunned favourites Barcelona to win their eighth Women’s Champions League title in…
Joshua Buatsi moves towards world title shot with points victory over Craig Richards in all-British clash
Joshua Buatsi won the battle of south London as he earned a deserved points victory over Craig Richards at the…
Buatsi vs Richards LIVE! Boxing result, fight stream, latest news, updates and reaction
Buatsi vs Richards - LIVE!
Winton Supercars: van Gisbergen dominates Race 2
Shane van Gisbergen passed early leader Cam Waters before sprinting to victory in the second Supercars race at Winton.
From analysis to good news, read the world’s best news in one place
Jimmy Butler Leaves Miami’s Game 3 Win With Knee Injury
The six-time All-Star was ruled for the rest of Saturday’s contest against the Celtics after logging 20 minutes in the…
Indy 500: Sato, Grosjean, Johnson into top 12 fight
Takuma Sato had a wild ride into Sunday’s Indy 500 pole battle and he’ll face rookies Romain Grosjean and Jimmie…

Kevin Plawecki and Alex Cora were ejected after arguing a terrible, bases loaded strike three call

By Mary Clarke

This is not the kind of call you want to see in a bases loaded situation.

During Wednesday night’s game between the Boston Red Sox and Atlanta Braves, Kevin Plawecki was called out looking on strike three on a pitch… that wasn’t even close to the zone. With two outs, a full count, and the bases loaded, the pressure was on for Plawecki to deliver a run in a 3-3 tied game in the top of the sixth.

Plawecki took the pitch, which was low and out of the zone, but the umpire called it a strike for the punch out to end the inning. How bad was the miss? See for yourself.

Oh yeah, that’s… really bad. Plawecki was ejected immediately and Boston manager Alex Cora wasn’t far behind as both were incredibly heated after the call.

And for good reason! The pitch was clearly ball four and would have scored the go-ahead run for the Red Sox. Instead, Boston had to march back to the dugout with nothing to show for their efforts.

What is inkl?
The world’s most important news, from 100+ trusted global sources, in one place.
Morning Edition
Your daily
news overview

Morning Edition ensures you start your day well informed.

No paywalls, no clickbait, no ads
Enjoy beautiful reading

Content is only half the story. The world's best news experience is free from distraction: ad-free, clickbait-free, and beautifully designed.

Expert Curation
The news you need to know

Stories are ranked by proprietary algorithms based on importance and curated by real news journalists to ensure that you receive the most important stories as they break.