Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
Irish Mirror
Irish Mirror
Vincent Whelan

Irish AFLW star Orla O'Dwyer becomes the first Irishwoman to be named an All-Australian

Tipperary native Orla O'Dwyer continues to make waves in her AFLW career as she has become the first Irishwoman to be named in their equivalent to the All-Stars.

She made the cut as one of six midfielders in the final 21-strong All-Australian team.

Mayo legend Cora Staunton had also made the initial 40-player shortlist but O'Dwyer is now out on her own as the first Irishwoman to get the nod as a fully-fledged All-Australian.

The only other Irish player, male or female, to previously gain such a distinction was the legendary Jim Stynes back in 1993 when he earned his second.

23-year-old O'Dwyer starred for The Premier in both Gaelic football and camogie prior to signing for Brisbane Lions in 2019.

She has demonstrated even more versatility with the extent to which she has picked up and blossomed in her new sport.

In this her third campaign in Aussie Rules, she recorded a per-game average of 14.4 disposals, 325 metres gained and 4.2 tackles tackle — in addition to her six goals.

Her side won the AFLW title last season ((Photo by Michael Willson/AFL Photos via Getty Images))

In 2020 her side had looked primed to win the AFLW title but that season was curtailed due to the pandemic.

However, they were not to be denied the following year as she was a key cog in their run to the Grand Final where they defeated Adelaide.

They were in the mix again this season too but came up short at the weekend in their Preliminary Final versus the Melbourne Demons, who feature Dublin pair Sinéad Goldrick and Lauren Magee.

2022 AFL Women’s All-Australian team in full:

Defenders: R Scheicher (Collingwood), L Birch (Melbourne); N Grider (Brisbane), S Allan (Adelaide Crows), E Kearney (North Melbourne) (Capt.);

Midfield: E Marinoff (Adelaide Crows), L Pearce (Melbourne), A Riddell (North Melbourne); A Hatchard (Adelaide Crows), E Bates (Brisbane), O’Dwyer (Brisbane);

Forwards: D Pearce (Melbourne), K Brennan (Richmond), H Miller (Fremantle); T Harris (Melbourne), A Woodland (Adelaide Crows);

Interchange: J Garner (North Melbourne), J Lambert (Collingwood), M Conti (Richmond), K Lamb (Western Bulldogs), K Harrington (Carlton)

Get the latest sports headlines straight to your inbox by signing up for free email alerts

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.