This Morning airs very different post-NTAs show without Holly and Phillip antics

By Lewis Knight

This Morning aired a very different post-NTAs show on Friday without Phillip Schofield and Holly Willoughby.

As per usual, Alison Hammond and Dermot O'Leary presented Friday's instalment of the ITV magazine show after this year became the first where Holly and Phillip didn't present the morning after the ceremony.

Alison and Dermot showed off the award and offered a "very polite thank you" before launching into a confetti-laden celebration, with Alison even offering her own mini acceptance speech.

Dermot joked it would have been bad for the two of them if the show lost the year he and Alison began presenting Friday's shows.

Dermot O'Leary and Alison Hammond presented This Morning the day after the NTAs (ITV)

Holly and Phil had commented on Thursday's show: "The great thing is it's on a Thursday for the first time so we don't have to wake up."

This Morning won the Daytime category award at the National Television Awards in London on Thursday night.

Alison did not attend the ceremony but did dress up at home and posted a caption on Instagram, penning: "Nta Ready, but not at the #ntas come on @thismorning!!"

The This Morning team in a lift selfie posted by Holly Willoughby on Friday morning (Instagram)

Thankfully, the show did win big at the awards.

The ceremony was attended by stars of the show including Philip Schofield, Holly Willoughby, Eamonn Holmes, Ruth Langsford, Rochelle Humes, and Dr Zoe Williams.

Holly and Alison had been nominated in the Presenter category along with The Chase's Bradley Walsh and former Good Morning Britain host Piers Morgan, but all four lost out to Ant McPartlin and Declan Donnelly who won for their 20th time in the category.

This Morning won the Daytime show award at the National Television Awards (ITV)

On Friday morning, Holly captioned a lift selfie of the team with the caption reading: "The obligatory lift selfie … Waking up with a full heart this morning… thank you once again… we love making this show and to pick up this award means so much to the whole team… congratulations to everyone at @thismorning … huge love".

Congratulations to the This Morning team!

*This Morning airs on weekdays from 10am to 12.30pm on ITV with previous episodes available on ITV Hub.

What did you think of the NTAs winners? Let us know in the comments below.

What is inkl?

Important stories

See news based on value, not advertising potential. Get the latest news from around the world.

Trusted newsrooms

We bring you reliable news from the world’s most experienced journalists in the most trusted newsrooms.

Ad-free reading

Read without interruptions, distractions or intrusions of privacy.