Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
The Hindu
The Hindu
Y.B. Sarangi

Ranji Trophy | Mukesh’s heroics help Bengal thrash Bihar by an innings and 204 runs

Mukesh Kumar’s career-best figures of six for 32 helped Bengal thrash Bihar by an innings and 204 runs in a Ranji Trophy Group-B fixture to end its campaign on a positive note and give its captain Manoj Tiwary a fitting farewell at the Eden Gardens here on Sunday.

Manoj Tiwary. (Source: PTI)

Bengal pace duo of Mukesh and Suraj Jaiswal wreaked havoc in favourable conditions as Bihar, beginning its second innings from 32 for one, was all out for 112 well before the lunch break on the third day.

The home team, which was the runner-up last year, gathered seven points to take its overall tally to 19, but it was not enough to earn it a berth in the knockouts.

Returning from India duty, Mukesh, who had taken one wicket overnight, continued with his disciplined performance to have Rishav Raj and Raghuvendra Pratap caught behind in consecutive deliveries in the first over of the day.

He bowled Mangal Mahrour (24, 44b, 4x4) in his next over to reduce Bihar to four for 37.

Sakibul Gani (28, 25b, 7x4) and Bipin Saurabh (22, 28b, 3x6) counterattacked to gather 50 runs in quick time. Jaiswal rapped the pads of Gani to break the partnership before having Bipin caught and bowled.

Paramjeet Singh (23, 38b, 5x4) showed some defiance but saw Mukesh breach his defence. The experienced pacer also castled Ravi Shankar to register his maiden 10-wicket haul.

Complementing Mukesh, Jaiswal claimed two more wickets to ensure his second four-wicket performance in the match.

Jaiswal, with 31 wickets in six outings, emerged as the find of the season for Bengal, which experienced a disappointing 2023-24.

The scores:

Bihar 1st innings: 95

Bengal 1st innings: 411 for five dec.

Bihar 2nd innings: Piyush Kumar Singh lbw b Mukesh 0, Mangal Mahrour b Mukesh 24, Rishav Raj c Abishek b Mukesh 12, Raghuvendra Pratap c Abishek b Mukesh 0, Sakibul Gani lbw b Jaiswal 28, Bipin Saurabh c&b Jaiswal 22, Paramjeet Singh b Mukesh 23, Veer Pratap Singh c Abhimanyu b Jaiswal 0, Ashutosh Aman c Gandhi b Jaiswal 0, Ravi Shankar b Mukesh 2, Y.P. Yadav (not out) 0, Extras (lb-1) 1, Total (in 35.1 overs) 112.

Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-32, 3-32, 4-37, 5-87, 6-100, 7-100, 8-110, 9-112.

Bengal bowling: Mukesh 9-3-32-6, Jaiswal 12.1-4-34-4, Shahbaz 4-2-10-0, Tiwary 2-1-2-0, Kaif 8-2-33-0.

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.