Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
The Hindu
The Hindu

Pak vs NZ | Pakistan pip New Zealand by 21 runs via DLS method to keep semis hopes alive

Pakistan defeated New Zealand by 21 runs via DLS method in a rain-hit World Cup game to keep their semifinal hopes alive in Bengaluru on Saturday.

Opener Fakhar Zaman played an unbeaten knock of 126 and was well-assisted by skipper Babar Azam (66 not out) during their run chase, which was impacted by intermitted rain.

New Zealand had amassed 401 for six in their 50 overs.

Following a short spell of rain, Pakistan were set a revised target of 342 in 41 overs. The rain returned in the 26th over with Pakistan cruising at 200 for one but no play was possible thereafter.

With the Pakistanis ahead of the DLS par score by 21 runs, they took home two much needed points. The Kiwis had put on a great show with the bat courtesy Rachin Ravindra’s classy 108 and skipper Kane Williamson’s 95.

ALSO READ | NZ vs PAK Live Score and updates, World Cup 2023

It was the fourth successive defeat for the New Zealanders.

Brief scores: New Zealand 401/6 in 50 overs (Rachin Ravindra 108, Kane Williamson 95; Mohammad Wasim 3/60). Pakistan 200/1 in 25.3 overs (Fakhar Zaman 126 not out, Babar Azam 66 not out)

New Zealand: Devon Conway c Mohammad Rizwan b Hasan Ali 35 Rachin Ravindra c Saud Shakeel b Mohammad Wasim 108 Kane Williamson c Fakhar Zaman b Iftikhar Ahmed 95 Daryl Mitchell b Haris Rauf 29 Mark Chapman b Mohammad Wasim 39 Glenn Phillips b Mohammad Wasim 41 Mitchell Santner not out 26 Tom Latham not out 2 Extras: (LB-8, NB-1, W-17) 26 Total: (For 6 wickets in 50 overs) 401 Fall of wickets: 1-68, 2-248, 3-261, 4-318, 5-345, 6-388 Bowling: Shaheen Shah Afridi 10-0-90-0, Hasan Ali 10-0-82-1, Iftikhar Ahmed 8-0-55-1, Haris Rauf 10-0-85-1, Mohammad Wasim 10-0-60-3, Agha Salman 2-0-21-0.

Pakistan innings Abdullah Shafique c Williamson b Southee 4 Fakhar Zaman not out 126 Babar Azam (c) not out 66 Extras: (lb 1, w 3) 4 Total: (For one wicket in 25.3 overs) 200 Fall of wicket: 6-1 Bowling: Trent Boult 6-0-50-0, Tim Southee 5-0-27-1, Mitchell Santner 5-0-35-0, Glenn Phillips 5-1-42-0, Ish Sodhi 4-0-44-0, Daryl Mitchell 0.3-0-1-0.

Result: Pakistan won by 21 runs via D/L method.

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.