Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
ABC News
ABC News

New South Wales make seven changes for second State of Origin game in Perth

Experienced Origin player Jake Trbojevic has been brought in to the Blues squad for game two in Perth. (Getty Images: Mark Kolbe)

New South Wales coach Brad Fittler has made seven changes to his squad for next Sunday's must-win State of Origin II in Perth.

Matt Burton, Angus Crichton, Clint Gutherson, Jordan McLean, Victor Radley, Siosifa Talakai and Jake Trbojevic all come in to the 22-man squad.

Burton, McLean, Radley, Talakai, Joseph Suaalii and Nicho Hynes are in line for possible debuts.

Fittler will not confirm his 17 until Monday morning, immediately after which the squad will travel to Perth.

Reagan Campbell-Gillard, Tariq Sims, Jacob Saifiti, Tyson Frizzell, Kotoni Staggs and Jack Wighton have all been omitted

Raiders star Wighton was forced out of Game II due to COVID protocols, having been the Blues' stand-out in Game I.

Canterbury's Burton is in contention to play left centre in place of Staggs but there is no place for fellow Bulldog Josh Addo-Carr, who has scored five tries in the three games since being snubbed for Origin I.

Bulldogs pair Josh Addo-Carr and Matt Burton have been impressive in a struggling team. (Getty Images: Matt King)

Api Koroisau will likely come off the bench to assist Rabbitohs hooker Damien Cook, who was oddly quiet in the Game I defeat after being a non-playing squad member for Game I.

Fittler resisted the urge to parachute in returning South Sydney star Latrell Mitchell, who is yet to play in the NRL since suffering a hamstring tear in April and then testing positive for COVID.

The Blues must win game two at Perth Stadium on June 26 in order to keep the series alive after losing game one in Sydney, 16-10.

Maroons coach Billy Slater is set to name his squad on Monday morning.

Blues squad: James Tedesco (captain), Matt Burton, Nathan Cleary, Damien Cook, Angus Crichton, Stephen Crichton, Clint Gutherson, Payne Haas, Nicho Hynes, Apisai Koroisau, Jarome Luai, Liam Martin, Jordan McLean , Cameron Murray, Junior Paulo, Victor Radley, Joseph Suaalii, Siosifa Talakai, Brian To'o, Jake Trbojevic, Daniel Tupou, Isaah Yeo. 

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.