Get all your news in one place
100’s of premium titles. One news app. Zero ads. Just $10 per month.

F1 Spanish Grand Prix qualifying – Start time, how to watch, channel

Ferrari topped Friday practice for the Spanish GP, with Charles Leclerc setting the quickest time in both FP1 and FP2.

Mercedes appeared much closer to the front than it had at any point so far in 2022, with George Russell and Lewis Hamilton finishing second and third respectively in the afternoon session.

Max Verstappen was the top Red Bull driver in fifth, over three tenths off the pace of Carlos Sainz.

What time does qualifying for the Spanish Grand Prix start?

Qualifying for the Spanish Grand Prix will begin at 4pm local time (+2 GMT) at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. The three-part session will last approximately one hour.

  • Date: Saturday, May 21, 2022 
  • Start time: 14:00 GMT / 15:00 BST / 16:00 CEST / 16:00 SAST / 17:00 EAT / 10:00 ET / 07:00 PT / 00:00 AEST (Sunday) / 23:00 JST / 19:30 IST (Sunday) 

Can’t find your country or region in the list? Check the schedule page for the broadcast times in your local timezone.

2022 Formula 1 Spanish Grand Prix session timings in different timezones

Session

GMT

BST

CEST

ET

PT

AEST

JST

IST

FP1

12:00

13:00

14:00

08:00

05:00

22:00

21:00

17:30

FP2

15:00 16:00

17:00

11:00

09:00

01:00¹

00:00¹

20:30

FP3

11:00

12:00

13:00

07:00

04:00

21:00

20:00

16:30

Q

14:00

15:00

16:00

10:00

07:00

00:00¹

23:00

19:30

Race 

13:00

14:00

15:00

09:00

06:00

23:00

22:00

18:30

How can I watch qualifying?

Formula 1 is broadcast live in nearly every country around the world. 

Europe

  • Austria - Servus TV / ORF
  • Belgium - RTBF / Telent / Play Sport Open
  • Czech Republic - AMC
  • Denmark - TV3 / TV3 Sport / Viaplay
  • Finland - Viaplay
  • France - Canal+
  • Germany - Sky / RTL
  • Greece - ERT / Cosmote TV
  • Hungary - M4
  • Italy - Sky
  • Netherlands - Viaplay
  • Poland - Eleven Sports
  • Portugal - Sport TV
  • Spain - Movistar / DAZN
  • Sweden - Viaplay / V sport motor / TV 10
  • Switzerland - SRF / RSI / RTS
  • UK - Sky Sports F1

Americas

  • USA - ESPN2
  • Canada - RDS / RDS2 / TSN / Noovo
  • Latin America - Fox Sports / ESPN

Asia

  • China - Great Sports TV / Guangdong TV
  • India - Star Sports
  • Japan - Fuji Television
  • Malaysia - Astro Sports
  • Indonesia- 0 Channel / Champions TV / Vidio
  • Singapore - Singtel / Starhub
  • Thailand - True Visions
  • Turkey - S Sport / S Sport Plus
  • Vietnam - K+

Oceania

  • Australia - Fox Sports / Network 10
  • New Zealand - Spark Sports

Africa

  • Africa - SuperSport

Can I stream qualifying?

Viewers from selected countries can subscribe to F1 TV to stream qualifying on a device of their choice. Some local broadcasters such as Sky TV (UK) and Movistar (Spain) also offer their own on-demand service. 

Live commentary

Motorsport.com will bring the latest updates from Barcelona throughout the weekend, including live commentary during qualifying on Saturday.

Spanish Grand Prix - FP2 results:

Cla Driver Chassis Time Gap
1 Monaco Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1'19.670  
2 United Kingdom George Russell Mercedes 1'19.787 0.117
3 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1'19.874 0.204
4 Spain Carlos Sainz Ferrari 1'19.990 0.320
5 Netherlands Max Verstappen Red Bull 1'20.006 0.336
6 Spain Fernando Alonso Alpine 1'20.203 0.533
7 Mexico Sergio Perez Red Bull 1'20.632 0.962
8 Germany Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin 1'20.703 1.033
9 France Esteban Ocon Alpine 1'20.745 1.075
10 Germany Mick Schumacher Haas 1'20.757 1.087
11 France Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri 1'20.917 1.247
12 Denmark Kevin Magnussen Haas 1'21.013 1.343
13 Canada Lance Stroll Aston Martin 1'21.249 1.579
14 Japan Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri 1'21.285 1.615
15 Australia Daniel Ricciardo McLaren 1'21.385 1.715
16 Finland Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo 1'21.828 2.158
17 China Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo 1'21.866 2.196
18 Thailand Alex Albon Williams 1'22.319 2.649
19 Canada Nicholas Latifi Williams 1'23.197 3.527
20 United Kingdom Lando Norris McLaren 1'23.388 3.718

Spanish Grand Prix - FP1 results:

Cla Driver Chassis Time Gap
1 Monaco Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1'19.828  
2 Spain Carlos Sainz Ferrari 1'19.907 0.079
3 Netherlands Max Verstappen Red Bull 1'20.164 0.336
4 United Kingdom George Russell Mercedes 1'20.590 0.762
5 Spain Fernando Alonso Alpine 1'20.768 0.940
6 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1'20.811 0.983
7 United Kingdom Lando Norris McLaren 1'21.279 1.451
8 France Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri 1'21.422 1.594
9 Australia Daniel Ricciardo McLaren 1'21.737 1.909
10 Japan Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri 1'21.814 1.986
11 France Esteban Ocon Alpine 1'21.891 2.063
12 Canada Lance Stroll Aston Martin 1'21.920 2.092
13 Poland Robert Kubica Alfa Romeo 1'21.975 2.147
14 Denmark Kevin Magnussen Haas 1'22.089 2.261
15 Germany Mick Schumacher Haas 1'22.146 2.318
16 Germany Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin 1'22.164 2.336
17 Finland Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo 1'22.614 2.786
18 Netherlands Nyck de Vries Williams 1'22.920 3.092
19 Canada Nicholas Latifi Williams 1'23.011 3.183
20 Estonia Jüri Vips Red Bull 1'24.138 4.310