Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
Top News
Top News

Diane Warren To Receive Johnny Mercer Award At SHOF Gala

Diane Warren selected for highest honor at Songwriters Hall of Fame.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced that Diane Warren will be the 2024 recipient of the Johnny Mercer Award at the organization's induction and awards gala slated for Thursday, June 13, 2024, at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. The Johnny Mercer Award is the Hall's highest honor, reserved for a songwriter or songwriting team who has already been inducted in a prior year and whose body of work is of such high quality and impact that it upholds the gold standard set by the legendary Johnny Mercer. Diane Warren, inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2001, has been selected for this prestigious award.

SHOF Chairman Nile Rodgers praised Diane Warren, highlighting her exceptional talent and dedication to songwriting. Warren's impressive career spans hit songs like 'Rhythm of the Night' and 'I Don't Want To Miss a Thing,' earning her over 100 Academy Award nominations. Rodgers expressed his delight in Warren receiving the esteemed Johnny Mercer Award, emphasizing her unique contributions to the music industry.

In her response, Diane Warren expressed her gratitude for the recognition, especially reflecting on her journey as a songwriter and the support of her parents. With nine No. 1 hits and 33 top 10 songs on the Billboard Hot 100, Warren has solidified her position as a prolific songwriter. Her catalogue includes popular tracks like 'Only Love Can Hurt Like This,' 'Un-Break My Heart,' and 'If I Could Turn Back Time.'

Warren's remarkable achievements also extend to the film industry, with her songs featured in over 150 films. Notably, she received 15 Academy Award nominations and has won multiple Grammy, EMMY, and Golden Globe awards. Her recent work on the original song 'The Fire Inside' for the film 'Flamin' Hot' earned her a 15th Oscar nomination.

Additionally, the Songwriters Hall of Fame will induct several notable figures at the upcoming event, including Hillary Lindsey, Timbaland, Dean Pitchford, R.E.M., and Steely Dan. The ceremony promises to celebrate the outstanding contributions of these talented individuals to the world of music.

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.