Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
USA Today Sports Media Group
USA Today Sports Media Group
Jess Root

Cardinals announced 8 team captains for 2022 season

The Arizona Cardinals voted on and announced their team captains for the 2022 season. They will have eight players with the ‘C’ on their jersey this season.

They had nine team captains last season, eight in 2020 and five in 2019, the first season with Kliff Kingsbury as head coach.

Buy Cardinals Tickets

This season, it breaks down as four offensive captains and four defensive captains, although one is sort of defense/special teams.

Listen to the latest from Cards Wire’s Jess Root on his podcast, Rise Up, See Red. Subscribe on Apple podcasts or Spotify.

Latest show:

Previous shows:


QB Kyler Murray

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Murray is a team captain for the third straight year. He has been one every year after his rookie season in 2019.

If there has been any doubt about whether his teammates view him as a leader, the fact they have voted him captain three years in a row should tell you something.

RB James Conner

Michael Chow-Arizona Republic

Conner is a captain for the first time. His approach to the game really resonates with teammates and he is more or less the heart and soul of the offense.

LT D.J. Humphries

 (AP Photo/Tony Avelar)

Like Murray, Humphries is a captain for the third straight year.

C Rodney Hudson

(AP Photo/Darryl Webb)

Hudson commands a ton of respect in the locker room, even when he wasn’t sure he was going to play this season. He is a captain for the second straight season. They voted him captain last season even though it was his first season with the team.

S Budda Baker

 (AP Photo/Ron Schwane)

Baker is voted a team captain for the second straight season but is a captain for the third time. After Chandler Jones went down for the season with an injury in 2020, Baker was made a team captain. There is no question about his leadership.

S Jalen Thompson

 (AP Photo/John McCoy)

It’s been a good couple of weeks for J.T. He got a big contract extension last week and now his teammates made him a team captain.

DE J.J. Watt

Watt is voted captain for the second straight year.

LB Dennis Gardeck

(AP Photo/Seth Wenig)

Gardeck is a captain for the third straight season and it will be his first season with a significant role on defense. He has earned it previously for his special teams play and leadership.

Now he is a leader among the outside linebackers, which, including the practice squad, has three rookies and a second-year player.

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.