Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
Scott Bailey

No invite for Aussies in US T20 World Cup party

Ricky Ponting was once a US all-star but Aussie hopes of a first match there have been dashed. (Peter Mitchell/AAP PHOTOS)

Australia have been denied the chance to play a maiden cricket match in the US, with all of their Twenty20 World Cup group games to be staged in the West Indies.

Organisers unveiled the schedule for this year's historic T20 World Cup, which will be played in both the US and Caribbean islands, on Friday (Saturday AEDT).

Cricket's largest ever international venture into the US will include 16 group matches in three cities - New York, Dallas and Miami.

But Australia haven't been invited to the party in the US.

Instead, they'll play exclusively in the West Indies with group matches in Barbados, Antigua and St Lucia.

Australia have been handed a friendly draw with Oman, Namibia and Scotland in their group which does, however, feature reigning champions England.

Australia's opener will be against Oman on June 5, with the big clash against England on June 8 in Barbados.

The top two teams will progress to the competition's Super Eight stage, which will be held exclusively in the Caribbean.

Pre-tournament seedings will carry over for that stage of the tournament, assuming the top-eight teams qualify.

If Australia and England progress out of their initial pool, it is likely Australia will have India, Sri Lanka and New Zealand in their Super-Eight group assuming there are no shock first-round exits.

Australia have never played an international match in the US across either the men's or women's game.

But Australian players have played in the country in recent years with Adam Zampa and Aaron Finch among those to feature in Major League Cricket last year.

Teams from Asia make up the bulk of games played across the three US cities, with an aim to target a large ex-pat community.

That will be headlined by a marquee clash between India and Pakistan on June 9 at Eisenhower Park in New York.

The tournament kicks off on June 1, with the US playing Canada in Dallas while other matches in the country include the four India group fixtures - three in New York and a match against Canada in Lauderhill, Florida on June 15. 

The semi-finals are scheduled for June 26 in Guyana and June 27 in Trinidad, with the final at Kensington Oval in Barbados on June 29.


Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, USA.

Group B: Australia, England, Namibia, Scotland, Oman.

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea.

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal.


vs Oman, June 5, Barbados

vs England, June 8, Barbados

vs Nambia, June 11, Antigua

vs Scotland, June 15, St Lucia


vs Sri Lanka, June 20, Antigua

vs New Zealand, June 22, St Vincent

vs India, June 24, St Lucia


June 26, Guyana

June 27, Trinidad


June 30, Barbados

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.