Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
Daily Mirror
Daily Mirror
Mark Wakefield

USA to host revamped FIFA Club World Cup with 32 teams including Premier League giants

The United States of America will host a revamped version of the FIFA Club World Cup beginning in 2025, it has been announced.

Plans had been in place for some time to restructure the Club World Cup, and now the proposed changes have been confirmed. The new tournament will take place between June and July in two year’s time in 2025.

At the moment, the current format for the Club World Cup sees the reigning Champions League winners automatically qualify for the tournament which is usually held in the winter. The other teams that take part feature the respective winners for the other continental football federations in CONCACAF, AFC, CAF, CONMEBOL, OFC, as well as UEFA.

Now, though, the plans are changing that will see 32 teams now compete in the new format of the tournament in 2025. Out of those teams, 12 will be from Europe and include previous winners of the Champions League.

Under the changes, the Champions League winners from 2021-24 which includes Chelsea, Real Madrid and most recent victors Manchester City, plus next season’s winner, will all take part. The other eight spots will be determined based on official club rankings which will be finalised in due course.

It was confirmed on Friday by the FIFA Council that the United States would host the tournament in 2025. The event will see stadiums work as test locations ahead of the World Cup the following year in 2026, with Mexico and Canada co-hosting that tournament alongside the US.

Major League Soccer outfit the Seattle Sounders will also be taking part in the new Club World Cup, after winning the 2022 CONCACAF Champions League. The US are also expected to have another club representative at the tournament as hosts.

FIFA president Gianni Infantino explained the reasoning behind the changes being implemented to the Club World Cup. Infantino went on to say that the tournament will become the biggest event in men’s professional club football.

Real Madrid won the FIFA Club World Cup in February this year (Diego Souto/Quality Sport Images/Getty Images)

Infantino said: “The Fifa Club World Cup 2025 will be the pinnacle of elite professional men’s club football, and with the required infrastructure in place together with a massive local interest, the United States is the ideal host to kick off this new, global tournament.

“With some of the world's top clubs already qualified, fans from every continent will be bringing their passion and energy to the United States in two years' time for this significant milestone in our mission to make football truly global”.

Following the news of the Club World Cup format changes, there has also been an update on the vote for the hosts of the 2030 World Cup. It has been confirmed that the vote for the hosts has been delayed and will not take place until the end of 2024.

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.