Get all your news in one place
100’s of premium titles. One news app. Zero ads. Just $10 per month.

Three Olympic medallists in Games squad

Decathletes Ash Moloney and Cedric Dubler have been picked in the Commonwealth Games team. (AAP)

Australia's three medallists from the Tokyo Olympics are among the first 32 athletes named in the Australian track and field squad for the Birmingham Commonwealth Games.

High jump runner-up Nicola McDermott and bronze medallists Kelsey-Lee Barber (javelin) and Ash Moloney (decathlon) were all included in the team on Monday.

Moloney and his close friend Cedric Dubler will also contest the decathlon at the world championships in Eugene, Oregon, with the gruelling event winding up on July 24.

That would give them less than two weeks to recuperate before the Commonwealth Games track and field competition begins.

Australia can only send 69 able-bodied athletes to the Commonwealth Games, including the 18 named on Monday.

The other 14 automatic selections, including dual Tokyo Paralympics gold medallist Madison de Rozario, will compete in the fully-integrated para-sport program in Birmingham.

"There's something special about the Commonwealth Games. After winning gold there in 2018, it holds a special place in my heart in terms of my career, particularly in the marathon," de Rozario said.

"One element I love about the Commonwealth Games is the combined team, and the way Australia embraces both sides of our team."

De Rozario, Evan O'Hanlon (T38 100m), Kurtis Marschall (pole vault) and walker Jemima Montag will be defending their 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games titles.

"My gold medal in front of a home crowd was a fork in the road moment. After having struggled with confidence and wondering whether I had what it takes, I hit that tape and knew I belonged amongst the best in the world," Montag said.

"My mindset is totally different heading into Birmingham. I remember just feeling lucky to be on the team in 2018, and hoping to smile for the cameras during the race.

"This time around I know I can win and I'm ready to put on a classy performance."

The remainder of the Australian squad will be announced in June at the end conclusion of the qualifying period.


Angela Ballard - 1500m T54

Kelsey-Lee Barber - javelin

Catriona Bisset - 800m

Julie Charlton - Shot Put F57

Rhiannon Clarke - 100m T38

Liz Clay - 100m hurdles

Sarah Clifton-Bligh - 100m T34

Christie Dawes - Marathon T54 and 1500m T54

Madison de Rozario - Marathon T54 and 1500m T54

Sinead Diver - marathon

Sarah Edmiston - discus F42-44/F61-64

Jessica Hull - 5000m

Nina Kennedy - pole vault

Robyn Lambird - 100m T34

Rosemary Little - 100m T34

Nicola McDermott - high jump

Jemima Montag - 10000m Walk

Ella Pardy - 100m T38

Eleanor Patterson - high jump


Liam Adams - marathon

Peter Bol - 800m

Matthew Denny - discus

Cedric Dubler - decathlon

Oliver Hoare - 1500m

Anthony Jordan - 100m T47

Jake Lappin - 1500m T54

Kurtis Marschall - pole vault

Ash Moloney - decathlon

Evan O'Hanlon - 100m T38

Jaydon Page - 100m T47

Jack Rayner - marathon

Kyle Swan - 10,000m walk