Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
The National (Scotland)
The National (Scotland)
National
David Irvine

'The referee knows...' - Iheanacho blasts 'awful' Celtic disallowed goal call

Kelechi Iheanacho has slaughtered the "awful decision" to rule out his strike against Braga for handball.

The gutted Celtic striker insists the ball struck him on the face as he slammed the call to chop off the equaliser at Celtic Park.

Iheanacho had come through a challenge and raced clear to find the bottom corner with a smart finish just seven minutes into the second half of the Europa League contest.

However, after a delay, the goal was ruled out for a handball offence against the striker.

Christian Dingert on VAR deemed Iheanacho to have handled the ball as he controlled it before finding the bottom corner.

The decision was a factual overturn according to the rules, meaning the referee did not have to go to the pitchside monitor with clear and obvious evidence of the handball needed.

Iheanacho was stunned by the decision as he insisted after the match that the referee knew the ball hadn't struck his arm.

"To be fair, that was an awful decision from them," he said on Celtic TV.


Read more:


"The ball didn't hit my hand, it hit my face. It was an awful decision.

"That changed the game. We could have been back in the game.

He continued: "We are disappointed. I don't know what they did there.

"The referee knows it wasn't a handball, so I don't know what they did there.

"That changed the game. It was an awful decision. Hopefully, they can sort that out."

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.