Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
Steve Larkin

Strikers' Short named captain of BBL team of tournament

Matt Short has enjoyed a prolific Big Bash season with the Adelaide Strikers. (Matt Turner/AAP PHOTOS)

Adelaide Strikers run-glutton Matt Short has been named captain of the Big Bash League's team of the tournament.

Short, his teammate Jamie Overton, Perth Scorchers allrounder Aaron Hardie and the Brisbane Heat's Xavier Bartlett all received  maximum votes in the ceremonial team selected by the eight BBL coaches.

Scorchers wicketkeeper Josh Inglis (seven votes), Chris Lynn (Strikers, six) and Matthew Kuhnemann (Heat, six) were others favoured by coaches.

Brisbane's Paul Walter received five votes while Melbourne Renegades batsman Jake Fraser-McGurk, the Scorchers' Lance Morris and Adelaide legspinner Cameron Boyce received four votes to round out the 11-man team.

No 12th man was named, with Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Ellis, Laurie Evans, Glenn Maxwell and Beau Webster all receiving three votes each.

Strikers skipper Short was named captain after his record-breaking feats when he scored 509 runs including six half-centuries to top the BBL's run-scorers and set a record for most runs in a single tournament for Adelaide.

"It is a formidable team that showcases the best of the Big Bash and some future superstars of the game," Cricket Australia's BBL general manager Alistair Dobson said in a statement.

"The voting was incredibly close this season, demonstrating the depth of the talent across the league."

The BBL finals start on Friday night when Brisbane meet the Sydney Sixers in the qualifier on the Gold Coast, with the winner earning direct passage to next Wednesday's final.

On Saturday, Perth host Adelaide in the knockout, with the winner to meet the loser of the qualifier on Monday to determine the other finalist.


Matt Short (capt), Chris Lynn (both Adelaide Strikers), Aaron Hardie (Perth Scorchers), Jake Fraser-McGurk (Melbourne Renegades), Josh Inglis (Perth Scorchers), Jamie Overton (Adelaide Strikers), Paul Walter, Xavier Bartlett, Matthew Kuhnemann (all Brisbane Heat), Lance Morris (Perth Scorchers), Cameron Boyce (Adelaide Strikers).    

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.