Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
George Clarke

Panthers stars dominate NRL's Dally M shortlist

Penrith's run to a fourth successive grand final has put nine of their players in the Dally M frame. (Dan Himbrechts/AAP PHOTOS)

Penrith have put themselves on track to pick up a third straight premiership and they could do so after cleaning up at the Dally M awards.

As part of a shortlist announced by the NRL ahead of Wednesday's ceremony at Randwick Racecourse, the reigning premiers have been recognised for their success.

Nine Penrith players are in contention for roles in the team of the year, with five-eighth and hooker the only positions for which they don't have a contender.

Ivan Cleary is once again in the reckoning to be named best coach, while Isaah Yeo is in the frame for captain and lock of the year.

Dylan Edwards has the chance to usurp the Sydney Roosters' James Tedesco and be recognised as the game's leading fullback.

Edwards won the Clive Churchill Medal in last year's grand final victory and such was his form the Penrith flyer was being talked up as a potential replacement for Tedesco in the NSW State of Origin side.

Winger Sunia Turuva is in consideration for rookie of the year, although he faces stiff competition from Wests Tigers whiz Jahream Bula and Melbourne's rugby sevens convert Will Warbrick.

Nathan Cleary will vie with Daly Cherry-Evans and Shaun Johnson to be crowned the game's best halfback, with the latter widely tipped to win the Dally M Medal.

Johnson has spearheaded the Warriors revival under rookie coach Andrew Webster, who will attempt to see off Cleary and Kevin Walters to be named the game's best coach.

Winger Jamayne Isaako is the only nominee from 2023 newcomers the Dolphins and is up against a strong field that includes Brian To'o, Selwyn Cobbo, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak and Dominic Young for a berth.

Elsewhere, the Rugby League Players' Association has named Jahream Bula and Annessa Biddle as the men's and women's rookies of the year respectively.

The winners of the NRL and NRLW players' champions will be announced at halftime during the men's grand final next Sunday.


* Fullback of the year - James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters), Dylan Edwards (Penrith), Kalyn Ponga (Newcastle)

* Winger (two winners) - Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (Warriors), Jamayne Isaako (Dolphins), Brian To'o (Penrith), Dominic Young (Newcastle), Selwyn Cobbo (Brisbane), Ronaldo Mulitalo (Cronulla)

* Centre (two winners) - Stephen Crichton (Penrith), Bradman Best (Newcastle), Kotoni Staggs (Brisbane), Campbell Graham (South Sydney), Herbie Farnworth (Brisbane), Izack Tago (Penrith)

* Five-eighth - Ezra Mam (Brisbane), Cameron Munster (Melbourne), Cody Walker (South Sydney)

* Halfback - Nathan Cleary (Penrith), Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly), Shaun Johnson (Warriors)

* Hooker - Wayde Egan (Warriors), Apisai Koroisau (Wests Tigers), Harry Grant (Melbourne)

* Prop (two winners) - Lindsay Collins (Sydney Roosters), Payne Haas (Brisbane) James Fisher-Harris (Penrith), Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Melbourne), Jake Trbojevic (Manly), Addin Fonua-Blake (Warriors)

* Second row (two winners) - Liam Martin (Penrith), Briton Nikora (Cronulla), Tyson Frizell (Newcastle), Haumole Olakau'atu (Manly), David Fifita (Gold Coast), Hudson Young (Canberra)

* Lock - Tohu Harris (Warriors), Isaah Yeo (Penrith), Patrick Carrigan (Brisbane)

* Coach - Kevin Walters (Brisbane), Andrew Webster (Warriors), Ivan Cleary (Penrith)

* Captain - Adam Reynolds (Brisbane), Tohu Harris (Warriors), Isaah Yeo (Penrith)

* Rookie - Jahream Bula (Wests Tigers), Will Warbrick (Melbourne), Sunia Turuva (Penrith).

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.