Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
Belfast Live
Belfast Live
Gareth Fullerton

Northern Ireland Under 19 squad named for Elite Euros

Gerard Lyttle has named his Northern Ireland Under 19 squad for this month's Elite Euros.

Lyttle has named a 20-strong panel for the qualifiers but it doesn't include Cliftonville teenager Sean Moore.

Senior manager Michael O'Neill revealed last week that Moore had been invited to join the U19 squad but the 17-year-old was yesterday called up by the Republic of Ireland U19s.

Read more: Irish League footballer opens up on brain tumour ordeal

It is a blow for Lyttle and the Irish FA but they will travel to France with a strong squad.

The U19s are set to face the French, Romania and Norway in Group 1 of the elite round, with the four-team mini tournament being staged in France.

The squad shows seven changes from the panel that secured a place in the second stage of the qualifiers.

A number of key players miss out due to injury including Michael Forbes, Ruairi McConville, Patrick Kelly, Matty Carson and Reece Evans, but Nottingham Forest midfielder Jamie McDonnell returns after missing the stage one qualifiers.

Sheffield Wednesday goalkeeper Pierce Charles, Huddersfield Town striker Conor Falls and Portadown defender Reece Jordan are also back after missing out last time around.

Birmingham City defender Tommy Fogarty is back a year after playing for the U19s at the Football Federations Cup in Spain, while Glenavon pair Jamie Doran and Aaron Prendergast are new to the U19 set-up.

Northern Ireland’s Under-19s will get their elite round qualification campaign under way against hosts France at Stade de la Source in Orleans on Wednesday, March 22 (5pm UK time).

Matchday two will see them take on the Romanians at Stade Jacques Mazzuca in Saran on Saturday, March 25 (2pm UK time).

And their final group game is against Norway at the same venue in Saran on Tuesday, March 28. The game in north-central France is scheduled to kick off at 2pm (UK time).


  • Goalkeepers – Josh Clarke (Celtic), Pierce Charles (Sheffield Wednesday).
  • Defenders – Daithi McCallion (Finn Harps, on loan from Derry City), Dylan Sloan (Newry City, on loan from Larne), Josh Roney (Stoke City), Reece Jordan (Portadown), Aaron Wightman (Glentoran), Brodie Spencer (Huddersfield Town), Tommy Fogarty (Birmingham City).
  • Midfielders – Conor Scannell (Ards), Jamie McDonnell (Nottingham Forest), Darren Robinson (Derby County), Rio Morgan (Ipswich Town), Jamie Doran (Glenavon).
  • Forwards – Charlie Lindsay (Rangers), Callum Marshall (West Ham United), Aaron Prendergast (Glenavon), Makenzie Kirk (Hearts), Sam Glenfield (Fleetwood Town), Conor Falls (Huddersfield Town).


Sign up to our free sports newsletter to get the latest headlines to your inbox.

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.