Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
Belfast Live
Belfast Live
Gareth Fullerton

Northern Ireland Under 17 squad named for Elite Euro stages

Gerard Lyttle has named a 20-strong squad for this month's Under 17 Elite Euro qualifiers.

Northern Ireland are preparing for the four-team mini-tournament which is being staged in the Netherlands.

Lyttle's U17s will be up against the hosts, England and Denmark in Group 3, which is the second stage of the 2022-23 UEFA European Under-17 Championship qualifiers.

Read more: Republic of Ireland U19 boss hails capture of Cliftonville teen star Moore

The Northern Ireland squad shows eight changes from the panel that qualified for the elite group.

Rangers goalkeeper Mason Munn, Blackburn Rovers defender Tom Atcheson and Linfield defender Callum Cowan all come into the panel.

Also added are midfielders Callum McCay (Derry City), Casey Smyth (Glentoran) and Aodhan Doherty (Linfield) along with Larne forward Jack Hastings and Liverpool striker Kieran Morrison.

Northern Ireland U17 manager Gerard Lyttle (INPHO/Presseye/Jonathan Porter)

Northern Ireland take on the Dutch at Sportpark SJC in Noordwijk on Wednesday, March 22 (6pm kick-off UK time). They will return to the same venue three days later to play England (12pm UK time).

Their final match in the group is also being staged at Sportpark SJC with Denmark providing the opposition on Tuesday, March 28 (6pm UK time).

The final Euro 2023 tournament is being staged in Hungary this summer, with Northern Ireland reaching the Elite stages after finishing third in their group in the first qualifying round.

Lyttle, who manages Northern Ireland’s U19s and U17s, will be in charge of the U19s for their elite qualifying round in France while the U17s are playing in the Netherlands.

Sean-Paul Murray and Kris Lindsay have been drafted in to coach the U17s instead.

Northern Ireland U17s squad for UEFA U17 Euro 2023 qualifiers (elite round):

  • Goalkeepers – Mason Munn (Rangers), Lorcan Donnelly (Glentoran).
  • Defenders – Josh Briggs (West Ham United), Adhamh Patton (Derry City), Calum Moreland (Linfield), Tom Atcheson (Blackburn Rovers), Brendan Hamilton (Aberdeen), Harry Lynch (Glenavon), Callum Cowan (Linfield).
  • Midfielders – Francis Turley (Celtic), Ryan Donnelly (pictured) (Dungannon Swifts), James Douglas (Glentoran), Callum McCay (Derry City), Casey Smyth (Glentoran), Aodhan Doherty (Linfield).
  • Forwards - Jack Hastings (Larne), Rhys Walsh (Glentoran), Oscar Kelly (Rochdale), Ciaran O’Hara (Coleraine), Kieran Morrison (Liverpool).


Sign up to our free sports newsletter to get the latest headlines to your inbox.

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.