Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
Wales Online
Wales Online
Stephanie Colderick

Netflix The Crown series 5 cast including Welsh Oscar winner Jonathan Pryce

The Netflix drama The Crown is back for series five, as viewers will continue to follow the life of Queen Elizabeth II. Starring a whole new cast, as the show follows the Queen in the 1990s when she was in her 60s, the new series will cover the divorce of King Charles and Princess Diana, a fire at Windsor Castle and Princess Diana's death.

This will be the first series of The Crown released after the death of both Prince Philip and Queen Elizabeth. Stars of the show have defended the series, saying it is not disrespectful or critical of the Royal family.

Read more: The locations in Wales where the The Crown was filmed

The Royal family have never officially spoken or made any comment about The Crown however it is believed that some members of the Royal family, including Prince Edward and his wife Sophie, watch the show. Here is everything you need to know about the highly anticipated series five of The Crown.

Who is in The Crown cast?

Imelda Staunton and Sir Jonathan Pryce as the Queen and Prince Phillip (Netflix)

The Crown series five cast included Welsh Oscar winner Jonathan Pryce as Prince Philip while Harry Potter, Alice in Wonderland and Downton Abbey star Imelda Staunton will take on the role of Queen Elizabeth. Australian actress Elizabeth Debicki from The Night Manager and Guardians of the Galaxy 2, will play Princess Diana and Golden Globe nominee Dominic West, of The Affair, will play Prince Charles.

Dominic West as Prince Charles and Elizabeth Debicki as Diana in Season 5 of The Crown (Netflix/Keith Bernstein)

Olivia Williams, who has starred in the 1996 film Emma and the TV series Counterpart, will play Camilla Parker Bowles while Trainspotting star Jonny Lee Miller will play Prime Minister John Major. Award-winning actor Bertie Carvel will play Tony Blair and Sherwood star Lesley Manville will star as Princess Margret.

Jonny Lee Miller plays John Major (PA)

Other cast members include Claudia Harrison as Princess Anne, Theo Fraser Steele as Timothy Laurence, James Murray as Prince Andrew, Emma Laird Craig as Sarah, Duchess of York, Sam Woolf as Prince Edward, Marcia Warren as Queen Elizabeth, The Queen Mother, Timothee Sambo as Prince William, Teddy Hawley as Prince Harry, Prasanna Puwanarajah as Martin Bashir and Humayun Saeed as Dr Hasnat Khan.

When will The Crown series five be released on Netflix?

The Crown will drop on Netflix at 8am on Wednesday, November 9.

How many episodes are there in series five of The Crown?

There are ten episodes in the new series of The Crown, all of which will be dropped at the same time on Netflix. This means that fans can binge-watch the series.

Where was The Crown series five filmed?

Many stately homes and grand houses have been used to film The Crown series five for interior and exterior shots. These include Belvoir Castle in Leicestershire, Ely Cathedral in Cambridgeshire, the Old Royal Naval College in London, Winchester Cathedral in Winchester, Ardverikie House in Scotland and Burghley House in Lincolnshire.


Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.