Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
The Independent UK
The Independent UK
Nicole Vassell

National Television Awards 2022: Nominations in full as Holly Willoughby and Phillip Schofield snubbed

PA Archive

The nominations for the National Television Awards 2022 have been announced, with Peaky Blinders, Heartstopper and Bridgerton all receiving multiple nods.

However, in a surprise to some fans,This Morning’s flagship hosts Holly Willoughby and Phillip Schofield are not in contention for any awards this year.

The hosting duo, who also present Dancing on Ice together, are usually staples in the list of nominations for TV Presenter.

Last year, only Willoughby was up for an award. This year’s list marks the first time since 2017 that neither presenter is being considered.

Though Willoughby and Schofield won’t receive any awards, their This Morning colleague Alison Hammond has received a nomination in the TV Presenter category, alongside Bradley Walsh, Graham Norton and Ant & Dec, who won in 2021 for the 20th year in a row.

Elsewhere, drama series such as Bridgerton, Peaky Blinders and Heartstopper celebrate nominations in their show categories, as well as for individual stars: Charithra Chandran and Jonathan Bailey for Bridgerton, Cillian Murphy for Peaky Blinders and Kit Connor and Joe Locke for Heartstopper.

The Wanted star Tom Parker is also nominated posthumously in the Authored Documentary category.

You can find the full list of nominations below.

New Drama

Trigger Point


This Is Going to Hurt


Talent Show

Britain’s Got Talent

The Masked Singer

RuPaul’s Drag Race UK

Strictly Come Dancing

Authored Documentary

Tom Parker: Inside My Head

Julia Bradbury: Breast Cancer and Me

Kate Garraway: Caring for Derek

Katie Price: What Harvey Did Next

Paddy and Christine McGuinness: Our Family and Autism

Returning Drama

Call the Midwife

Peaky Blinders

The Split


Alison Hammond and Dermot O’Leary (ITV)

TV Presenter

Alison Hammond

Graham Norton

Ant & Dec

Bradley Walsh

Factual Entertainment

Clarkson’s Farm


The Great British Bake Off

Paul O’Grady: For the Love of Dogs

Drama Performance

Cillian Murphy as Thomas Shelby, Peaky Blinders

Jonathan Bailey as Anthony Bridgerton, Bridgerton

Nicola Walker as Hannah, The Split

Vicky McClure as Lana Washington, Trigger Point

The Bruce Forsyth Entertainment Award

Ant & Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway

I’m A Celebrity… Get Me Out Of Here!


The Graham Norton Show

Serial Drama

Coronation Street





Jay Blades

Kaleb Cooper

Martin Lewis

Sir David Attenborough

Serial Drama Performance

Gillian Wright as Jean Slater, EastEnders

Mark Charnock as Marlon Dingle, Emmerdale

Paige Sandhu as Meena Jutla, Emmerdale

Rose Ayling-Ellis as Frankie Lewis, EastEnders

Quiz Game Show

Beat the Chasers

In for a Penny

Michael McIntyre’s The Wheel

The 1% Club

Rising Star

Charithra Chandran as Edwina Sharma, Bridgerton

Joe Locke as Charlie Spring, Heartstopper

Kit Connor as Nick Nelson, Heartstopper

Paddy Bever as Max Turner, Coronation Street


Loose Women

The Chase

The Repair Shop

This Morning


After Life

Derry Girls

Not Going Out

Sex Education

Talent Show Judge

Anton Du Beke

David Walliams

Mo Gilligan


The National Television Awards 2022 will take place at Wembley Arena on 15 September.

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.