Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
USA Today Sports Media Group
USA Today Sports Media Group
Ben DuBose

Jalen Green, Alperen Sengun, Jabari Smith Jr. drafted for NBA’s Rising Stars

Rookie Jabari Smith Jr. and second-year prospects Jalen Green and Alperen Sengun are representing the Houston Rockets in the annual Rising Stars event, as part of the NBA’s 2023 All-Star weekend. The mini-tournament will take place on Friday, Feb. 17, in Salt Lake City.

Rising Stars tournament games will be played to a target score, meaning each game will be won on a shot or free throw instead of the clock running out. The first two games will be played to 40 points, and the final game between the winners will be played to 25 points.

On Tuesday, the 21 active players (11 rookies, 10 sophomores) who were selected to the event by NBA assistant coaches were drafted onto three seven-player teams. Seven G League players selected by the league office will comprise the fourth team.

Former NBA players Pau Gasol, Joakim Noah, Deron Williams and Jason Terry are serving as honorary head coaches, while assistant coaches from the NBA All-Star Game coaching staffs will join them.

In a seven-round format, Gasol, Noah, and Williams each drafted their NBA teams on Tuesday afternoon. Here’s a look at how it all went down, including where each Rockets player went in the order. Green and Sengun will be teammates for Team Deron.

Round 1

1. Paolo Banchero (Magic) – Team Pau
2. Franz Wagner (Magic) – Team Deron
3. Evan Mobley (Cavaliers) – Team Joakim

Round 2

4. Josh Giddey (Thunder) – Team Joakim
5. Jalen Green (Rockets) – Team Deron
6. Bennedict Mathurin (Pacers) – Team Pau

Round 3

7. Jaden Ivey (Pistons) – Team Pau
8. Alperen Sengun (Rockets) – Team Deron
9. Jalen Williams (Thunder) – Team Joakim

Round 4

10. Jeremy Sochan (Spurs) – Team Joakim
11. Trey Murphy III (Pelicans) – Team Deron
12. Scottie Barnes (Raptors) – Team Pau

Round 5

13. Jose Alvarado (Pelicans) – Team Pau
14. AJ Griffin (Hawks) – Team Deron
15. Quentin Grimes (Knicks) – Team Joakim

Round 6

16. Jabari Smith Jr. (Rockets) – Team Joakim
17. Bones Hyland (Nuggets) – Team Deron
18. Keegan Murray (Kings) – Team Pau

Round 7

19. Andrew Nembhard (Pacers) – Team Pau
20. Walker Kessler (Jazz) – Team Deron
21. Jalen Duren (Pistons) – Team Joakim

Complete teams

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.