Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
The Hindu
The Hindu
S. Prasanna Venkatesan

IPL-17: PBKS vs SRH | Sunrisers’ batting might will be in focus against Kings

The usually bowling-centric Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) has let its batting make an emphatic statement so far in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) season. This facet will once again be the focal point as Pat Cummins’ men take on Punjab Kings (PBKS) at the Maharaja Yadavindra Singh International Cricket Stadium here on Tuesday.

The season’s only match (vs. Delhi Capitals) on Kings’ new home ground here was played on a black-soil strip that typically doesn’t offer great bounce. The ball held up a lot. It’ll be interesting to watch Sunrisers’ batting approach here.

Pace variation might work at this ground and Sunrisers’ seamers best executed it in its last match to greatly restrict Chennai Super Kings (CSK).

Kings’ assistant coach Brad Haddin said that Livingstone, who missed the last match due to a niggle, trained through a session on Sunday. He added that the medical team will be asked to reassess him and then a decision will be taken on the match-day.

Sunrisers’ Mayank Agarwal, who missed the last match as he was unwell, was seen practising on Monday.

In the previous match that was played here (3.30 p.m. start), Kings’ captain Shikhar Dhawan said that he chose to bowl to better gauge the pitch condition and added that it would get better for batting under the lights.

Hopefully, Kings have had a hang of the ground conditions since they will be playing their next three matches, post the Tuesday match, as well here.


Sunrisers Hyderabad: Jaydev Unadkat, Jhatavedh Subramanyan, T Natarajan, Mayank Markande, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Pat Cummins (c), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Sanvir Singh, Glenn Phillips, Nitish Reddy, Marco Jansen, Abhishek Sharma, Upendra Yadav, Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, Travis Head, Anmolpreet Singh, Mayank Agarwal, Abdul Samad, Akash Maharaj Singh, Wanindu Hasaranga, Umran Malik.

Punjab Kings: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Matthew Short, Prabhsimran Singh, Jitesh Sharma, Sikandar Raza, Rishi Dhawan, Liam Livingstone, Atharva Taide, Arshdeep Singh, Nathan Ellis, Sam Curran, Kagiso Rabada, Harpreet Brar, Rahul Chahar, Harpreet Bhatia, Vidwath Kaverappa, Shivam Singh, Harshal Patel, Chris Woakes, Ashutosh Sharma, Vishwanath Pratap Singh, Shashank Singh, Tanay Thyagarajann, Prince Choudhary, Rilee Rossouw.

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.