Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
Charles Bradley

IMSA Watkins Glen: Qualifying abandoned after huge LMP2/3 pile-up

Mixed weather conditions greeted the fifth round of America’s premier sportscar series but, following the multi-car shunt that halted the LMP2/P3 session, that and the GTP session that was meant to follow were abandoned.

That means all the prototypes will line up in championship order, with the #6 Porsche Penske Motorsport 963 of Nick Tandy and Mathieu Jaminet starting from pole, ahead of the #31 Action Express Racing Cadillac V-Series.R of Pipo Derani, Alexander Sims and Jack Aitken.

The #10 Wayne Taylor Racing with Andretti Autosport Acura ARX-06 of Ricky Taylor, Filipe Albuquerque and Louis Deletraz will start third, ahead of the Chip Ganassi Racing Caddy of Sebastien Bourdais and Renger van der Zande and the #25 BMW M Hybrid V8 of Connor De Phillippi and Nick Yelloly.

In the mixed LMP2 and P3 session, rain fell hard at the top of the hill just as the cars departed the pits. Under the IMSA rules, teams aren’t allowed to change tires.

Three cars – all on wets – then aquaplaned off in the Boot section of track, leading to a pile-up that halted the session: Ari Balough’s #30 went off first, landing in the tirewall. Ben Keating’s PR1 Mathiasen followed his path and ploughed into his stationary car. Then the #17 P3 of Anthony Mantella (AWA) spun and collected Keating’s stranded car. All drivers were unhurt.

With literally no times set, the field will also be set by teams’ championship order, which means the #11 TDS Racing entry will start from pole ahead of the #52 PR1 car that will need rebuilding after Keating’s shunt. In P3, the #74 Riley car will start from pole ahead of the #13 AWA machine.

#78: US RaceTronics, Lamborghini Huracan GT3 EVO2, GTD: Misha Goikhberg, Loris Spinelli, Patrick Liddy (Photo by: Jake Galstad / Motorsport Images)

Lamborghini beats Ferrari for GTD pole

In GTD, Jack Hawksworth led the early qualifying times in his #14 all-Pro Lexus RC F with a time of 1m45.924s, backed up by the #12 sister car of Aaron Telitz which led the Pro-am category.

As the track dried after a pre-session shower, although the braking zone at the Inner Loop remained damp, Loris Spinelli then topped them all with 1m45.330s in the Forte Racing Lamborghini Huracan, before Daniel Serra took over the Pro class pole in his Risi-run Ferrari 296 with 1m45.391s.

Hawksworth and Serra then swapped the pole between them, Serra stopping the clocks in 1m44.829s, but Spinelli grabbed it back with a track-record 1m44.430s – beating Pro class leader Serra by four tenths, despite a malfunctioning dashboard so he didn’t know his laptimes.

Jordan Pepper qualified third in Iron Lynx’s Lambo, ahead of the Lexus duo of Telitz and Hawksworth. Doriane Pin was sixth in her Iron Dames Huracan.

Ross Gunn hit trouble when the right-rear wheel came loose on his #23 Heart of Racing Aston Martin Vantage, due to an apparent hub issue, while Alan Brynjolfsson spun his Wright Motorsport Porsche 911 twice at the Inner Loop chicane.

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.