Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
USA Today Sports Media Group
USA Today Sports Media Group
Kyle Madson

Here’s how Brock Purdy, 49ers fared in MVP and other NFL post-season awards voting

The 49ers were well-represented in the NFL post-season awards given out at Thursday’s NFL Honors ceremony. Kyle Shanahan, Brock Purdy and Christian McCaffrey were all up for awards, but only one of them took home hardware.

McCaffrey won the Offensive Player of the Year award after leading the NFL in rushing and scrimmage yards, and tying for the league lead in touchdowns. McCaffrey and Purdy both lost out on the MVP award, while Shanahan was passed over in Coach of the Year voting.

How close did they come to winning awards though, and which player unexpectedly received votes?

Here’s how the voting went for each award per the APs Josh Dubow, with first-second-third place votes counted, followed by their total points:


Stan Szeto-USA TODAY Sports

QB Lamar Jackson, Baltimore, 49-0-1-0-0=493
QB Dak Prescott, Dallas, 0-17-13-11-6=152
RB Christian McCaffrey, San Francisco, 0-17-12-11-4=147
QB Brock Purdy, San Francisco, 0-9-5-12-13=97
QB Josh Allen, Buffalo, 1-5-11-3-6=80
WR Tyreek Hill, Miami, 0-2-6-9-14=60
QB Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City, 0-0-2-2-2=12
QB Matthew Stafford, Los Angeles Rams, 0-0-0-2-0=4
QB C.J. Stroud, Houston, 0-0-0-0-4=4
DE Myles Garrett, Cleveland 0-0-0-0-1=1

Offensive Player of the Year

(Photo by Thearon W. Henderson/Getty Images)

RB Christian McCaffrey, San Francisco, 39-8-3=222
WR Tyreek Hill, Miami, 7-32-8=139
WR CeeDee Lamb, Dallas, 1-4-28=45
QB Lamar Jackson, Baltimore, 3-3-8=32
QB Dak Prescott, Dallas, 0-1-2=5
QB Josh Allen, Buffalo, 0-1-0=3
QB Brock Purdy, San Francisco, 0-1-0=3
RB Travis Etienne, Jacksonville, 0-0-1=1

Defensive Player of the Year

Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

DE Myles Garrett, Cleveland, 23-13-11=165
DE T.J. Watt, Pittsburgh, 19-11-12=140
LB Micah Parsons, Dallas, 7-16-6=89
DE Maxx Crosby, Las Vegas, 0-5-6=21
CB DaRon Bland, Dallas, 1-2-3=14
S Antoine Winfield Jr., Tampa Bay, 0-2-1=7
LB Fred Warner, San Francisco, 0-1-4=7
LB Roquan Smith, Baltimore, 0-0-4=4
DL Dexter Lawrence, New York Giants, 0-0-1=1
DE Khalil Mack, Los Angeles Chargers, 0-0-1=1
DL Justin Madubuike, Baltimore, 0-0-1=1

Coach of the Year

(Photo by Thearon W. Henderson/Getty Images)

Kevin Stefanski, Cleveland, 21-18-6=165
DeMeco Ryans, Houston, 20-21-2=165
Dan Campbell, Detroit, 3-3-9=33
Kyle Shanahan, San Francisco, 3-3-2=26
John Harbaugh, Baltimore, 2-2-10=26
Sean McVay, Los Angeles Rams, 1-2-10=21
Mike Tomlin, Pittsburgh, 0-1-2=5
Shane Steichen, Indianapolis, 0-0-4=4
Matt LaFleur, Green Bay, 0-0-2=2
Todd Bowles, Tampa Bay, 0-0-1=1
Mike McDaniel, Miami, 0-0-1=1
Sean McDermott, Buffalo, 0-0-1=1

Comeback Player of the Year

Cary Edmondson-USA TODAY Sports

QB Joe Flacco, Cleveland, 13-26-8=151
DB Damar Hamlin, Buffalo, 21-7-14=140
QB Baker Mayfield, Tampa Bay, 10-10-13=93
QB Matthew Stafford, Los Angeles Rams, 1-6-7=30
QB Tua Tagovailoa, Miami, 4-0-1=21
QB Brock Purdy, San Francisco 1-0-1=6
WR Calvin Ridley, Jacksonville, 0-1-0=3
RB Breece Hall, New York Jets, 0-0-3=3
DL Aaron Donald, Los Angeles Rams, 0-0-1=1
QB Lamar Jackson, Baltimore, 0-0-1=1
QB Kyler Murray, Arizona, 0-0-1=1

Assistant Coach of the Year

(Photo by Jane Gershovich/Getty Images)

Jim Schwartz, Cleveland, 25-10-5=160
Mike Macdonald, Baltimore, 11-11-6=94
Ben Johnson, Detroit, 6-10-5=65
Bobby Slowik, Houston, 4-7-12=53
Todd Monken, Baltimore, 3-8-7=46
Steve Spagnuolo, Kansas City, 1-3-2=16
Raheem Morris, Los Angeles Rams, 0-1-3=6
Dan Quinn, Dallas, 0-0-4=4
Brian Flores, Minnesota, 0-0-3=3
Dave Canales, Tampa Bay, 0-0-2=2
Steve Wilks, San Francisco, 0-0-1=1

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.