Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
Liverpool Echo
Liverpool Echo
Chris Wright

Grand National runners 2023: Full list of 40 runners and riders for showpiece Aintree race

Favourite Corach Rambler, at 7-1 with William Hill, is among the final field of 40 runners declared for the 2023 Randox Grand National at Aintree Racecourse this Saturday after the top 40 horses all stood their ground.

Defi Bleu – who ran in the Irish Grand National at Fairyhouse on Easter Monday – and was among the top 40 at Monday's five-day declaration stage was taken out of the Aintree showpiece with Paul Gilligan's Born By The Sea replacing him. It means the Ted Walsh-trained Any Second Now – who has been third and second in the last two Grand Nationals – heads the handicap on 11st12lb. He is a best-priced 14-1 with William Hill. The Lucinda Russell-trained Corach Rambler has been the market leader since winning the Ultima Handicap Chase for a second successive year at last month's Cheltenham Festival. Last year's Grand National winner, the Emmet Mullins-trained Noble Yeats, was a staying-on fourth behind Galopin Des Champs in the Cheltenham Gold Cup as he warmed up for another crack at the Aintree showpiece. He is currently a best-priced 8-1 with most bookmakers for his bid to become the 10th dual winner of the race.

Another leading fancy in the line-up is last year's third Delta Work, who landed a second successive victory in the Glenfarclas Cross Country Chase and is trained by triple Grand National winner Gordon Elliott at Cheltenham. He is a best-priced 8-1 for the Grand National and heads six entries for the County Meath handler. As well as Delta Work – Galvin, Fury Road, Coko Beach, Escaria Ten and Dunboyne make up his team as trainer Elliott bids for with a record-equalling fourth success in the Aintree showpiece.

The field is dominated by Irish-trained contenders with 27 of the 40 from the Emerald Isle as they look to land a fourth successive victory in the Grand National. Other British hopes aside from Corach Rambler are the Dan Skelton-trained Le Milos, Joe Tizzard's The Big Breakaway and Mister Coffey for Nicky Henderson, who is yet to win the race despite saddling more than 40 runners since his first, Zongalero was second in 1979. Back On The Lash, a winner over Cheltenham's cross-country course earlier in the season, is another Brit for trainer Martin Keighley and he is part-owned by former footballer and manager Harry Redknapp.

The reserves system has been dropped this year, so if any of the final 40 are declared non-runners between now and when the race starts at 5.15pm there will be less than the maximum field of 40 lining up.

Betting guide: 7-1 Corach Rambler, 8-1 Noble Yeats, Delta Work, 14-1 Gaillard du Mesnil, Mr Incredible, 18-1 Any Second Now, Longhouse Poet, Le Milos, 20-1 Galvin, Vanillier, Our Power, 22-1 Ain't That A Shame, 25-1 Capodanno, Coko Beach, The Big Dog, 33-1 Carefully Selected, Lifetime Ambition, The Big Breakaway, 40-1 Dunboyne, 50-1 Fury Road, Gabbys Cross, Mister Coffey, Roi Mage, Velvet Elvis, 66-1 Back On The Lash, Darasso, Diol Ker, Escaria Ten, Eva's Oskar, Enjoy d'Allen, Fortescue, Hill Sixteen, Minella Trump, 80-1 Sam Brown, 100-1 A Wave of The Sea, Born By The Sea, Cape Gentleman, Captain Cattistock, Cloudy Glen, Darrens Hope, Fakiera, Fantastikas, Francky du Berlais, Mortal, Recite A Prayer, Secret Reprieve. For latest odds from William Hill, the official betting partner to the Grand National, visit

Grand National 2023 runners: Full list of horses racing this year

List of entries for the Randox Grand National Handicap Chase (Class 1), (4m2f74y) at Aintree Racecourse on Saturday, April 15 2023 (5.15pm).

No, Name, Age, Weight, Rating, Owner, Trainer, Jockey

1 Any Second Now (IRE) 11-11-12 167 Mr JP McManus Ted Walsh IRE Mark Walsh
2 Noble Yeats (IRE) 8-11-11 166 Mr Robert Waley-Cohen Emmet Mullins IRE Sean Bowen
3 Galvin (IRE) 9-11-11 166 Mr RA Bartlett Gordon Elliott IRE Davy Russell
4 Fury Road (IRE) 9-11-6 161 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE Jonjo O'Neill Jnr
5 The Big Dog (IRE) 10-11-5 160 Damien J Kelly/Colin Kelly Peter Fahey IRE Aidan Coleman
6 Capodanno (FR) 7-11-5 160 Mr JP McManus Willie Mullins IRE Danny Mullins
7 Delta Work (FR) 10-11-4 159 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE Keith Donoghue
8 Sam Brown (GB) 11-11-4 159 Mr TC Frost Anthony Honeyball Jonathan Burke
9 Lifetime Ambition (IRE) 8-11-3 158 Linda Mulcahy/Mary Wolridge Jessica Harrington IRE Sean O'Keeffe
10 Carefully Selected (IRE) 11-11-1 156 Miss MA Masterson Willie Mullins IRE Michael O'Sullivan
11 Coko Beach (FR) 8-11-0 155 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE Harry Cobden
12 Longhouse Poet (IRE) 9-11-0 155 Sean & Bernardine Mulryan Martin Brassil IRE JJ Slevin
13 Gaillard du Mesnil (FR) 7-11-0 155 Mrs J Donnelly Willie Mullins IRE Paul Townend
14 Darasso (FR) 10-10-13 154 Mr JP McManus Joseph O'Brien IRE LP Dempsey
15 Le Milos (GB) 8-10-11 152 The Jolly Good Partnership Dan Skelton Harry Skelton
16 Escaria Ten (FR) 9-10-10 151 McNeill Family Gordon Elliott IRE Adrian Heskin
17 The Big Breakaway (IRE) 8-10-10 151 Eric Jones, Geoff Nicholas, John Romans Joe Tizzard Brendan Powell
18 Cape Gentleman (IRE) 7-10-8 149 Mr Pierre Manigault John Hanlon IRE Jody McGarvey
19 Roi Mage (FR) 11-10-8 149 Pryde/Van Der Hoeven/McGladery/Beaumont Patrick Griffin IRE Felix De Giles
20 Diol Ker (FR) 9-10-8 149 Gigginstown House Stud Noel Meade IRE Kieren Buckley
21 A Wave of The Sea (IRE) 7-10-6 147 Mr JP McManus Joseph O'Brien IRE Shane Fitzgerald
22 Minella Trump (IRE) 9-10-6 147 Mr TG Leslie Donald McCain Theo Gilliard
23 Vanillier (FR) 8-10-6 147 Mrs HM Keaveney Gavin Cromwell IRE Sean Flanagan
24 Velvet Elvis (IRE) 7-10-6 147 Mr D Kierans Tom Gibney IRE Darragh O'Keeffe
25 Ain't That A Shame (IRE) 9-10-5 146 Robcour Henry de Bromhead IRE Rachael Blackmore
26 Corach Rambler (IRE) 9-10-5 146 The Ramblers Lucinda Russell Derek Fox
27 Enjoy d'Allen (FR) 9-10-5 146 Mr JP McManus Ciaran Murphy IRE Simon Torrens
28 Mr Incredible (IRE) 7-10-4 145 Mr P Byrne Willie Mullins IRE Brian Hayes
29 Mister Coffey (FR) 8-10-4 145 Lady Bamford & Alice Bamford Nicky Henderson Nico De Boinville
30 Cloudy Glen (IRE) 10-10-4 145 Exors of the late Mr Trevor Hemmings Venetia Williams Charlie Deutsch
31 Hill Sixteen (GB) 10-10-2 143 J Fyffe & S Townshend Sandy Thomson Ryan Mania
32 Gabbys Cross (IRE) 8-10-2 143 Mr RS Brookhouse Henry de Bromhead IRE Peter Carberry
33 Recite A Prayer (IRE) 8-10-1 142 The Turner Family Willie Mullins IRE JB Foley
34 Eva's Oskar (IRE) 9-10-1 142 Sally & Richard Prince Tim Vaughan Alan Johns
35 Our Power (IRE) 8-10-0 141 Walters Plant Hire & Potter Group Sam Thomas Sam Twiston-Davies
36 Dunboyne (IRE) 8-10-0 141 SP O'Connor Gordon Elliott IRE Jack Tudor
37 Francky du Berlais (FR) 10-10-0 141 Mr Roddy Owen Peter Bowen Ben Jones
38 Fortescue (GB) 9-9-13 140 Mrs L Nixon Henry Daly Hugh Nugent
39 Back On The Lash (GB) 9-9-13 140 Maughan, Redknapp, Ryan, Salters Martin Keighley Adam Wedge
40 Born By The Sea (IRE) 9-9-10 137 Natalie Gilligan Paul Gilligan IRE Phillip Enright

40 entries declared (27 Irish-trained)

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.