Enter your email to read this article
Read news on any topic, in one place, from publishers like The Economist, FT, Bloomberg and more.

F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix qualifying – Start time, how to watch, channel

Two-time F1 champion Max Verstappen set the pace in Friday practice, and Mercedes rival George Russell admitted that Red Bull has the edge over its rivals going into the business part of the weekend.

Ferrari was again only the third-fastest team in practice, with Charles Leclerc trailling both Verstappen and Russell in FP2.

What time does qualifying for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix start?

Qualifying for the Abu Dhabi GP will begin at 6pm local time (+4 GMT) at the Yas Marina Circuit.

  • Date: Saturday, November 19, 2022 
  • Start time: 18:00 local time / 14:00 GMT / 15:00 CEST / 16:00 SAST / 17:00 EAT / 09:00 ET / 06:00 PT / 01:00 AEST (Sunday) / 23:00 JST / 19:30 IST

Can’t find your country or region in the list? Check the schedule page for the broadcast times in your local timezone.

2022 Formula 1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix session timings in different timezones

Session

GMT

CET

ET

PT

AEDT

JST

IST

FP1

10:00

11:00

05:00

02:00

21:00

19:00

15:30

FP2

13:00

14:00

08:00

05:00

00:00¹

22:00

18:30

FP3

10:30

11:30

05:30

02:30

21:30¹

19:30

16:00

Q

14:00

15:00

09:00

06:00

01:00¹

23:00

19:30

Race 

13:00

14:00

08:00

05:00

00:00¹

22:00

18:30

How can I watch qualifying?

Formula 1 is broadcast live in nearly every country around the world. 

Europe

  • Austria - Servus TV / ORF
  • Belgium - RTBF / Telenet / Play Sport Open
  • Czech Republic - AMC
  • Denmark - TV3 / TV3 Sport / Viaplay
  • Finland - Viaplay
  • France - Canal+
  • Germany - Sky / RTL
  • Greece - ERT / Cosmote TV
  • Hungary - M4
  • Italy - Sky
  • Netherlands - Viaplay
  • Poland - Eleven Sports
  • Portugal - Sport TV
  • Spain - Movistar / DAZN
  • Sweden - Viaplay / V sport motor / TV 10
  • Switzerland - SRF / RSI / RTS
  • UK - Sky Sports F1

Americas

  • USA - ESPN3
  • Canada - RDS / RDS2 / TSN / Noovo
  • Latin America - Fox Sports / ESPN

Asia

  • China - Great Sports TV / Guangdong TV
  • India - Star Sports
  • Japan - Fuji Television
  • Malaysia - Astro Sports
  • Indonesia- 0 Channel / Champions TV / Vidio
  • Singapore - Singtel / Starhub
  • Thailand - True Visions
  • Turkey - S Sport / S Sport Plus
  • Vietnam - K+

Oceania

  • Australia - Fox Sports / Network 10
  • New Zealand - Spark Sports

Africa

  • Africa - SuperSport

Can I stream qualifying?

Viewers from selected countries can subscribe to F1 TV to stream qualifying on a device of their choice. Some local broadcasters such as Sky TV (UK) and Movistar (Spain) also offer their own on-demand service. 

Live commentary

Motorsport.com will bring the latest updates from Yas Marina throughout the weekend, including live commentary during qualifying on Saturday.

Abu Dhabi GP - FP1 results:

Cla Driver Chassis Time Gap
1 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1'26.633  
2 United Kingdom George Russell Mercedes 1'26.853 0.220
3 Monaco Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1'26.888 0.255
4 Mexico Sergio Perez Red Bull 1'26.967 0.334
5 New Zealand Liam Lawson Red Bull 1'27.201 0.568
6 Germany Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin 1'27.268 0.635
7 Russian Federation Robert Shwartzman Ferrari 1'27.429 0.796
8 Australia Daniel Ricciardo McLaren 1'27.619 0.986
9 Finland Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo 1'27.655 1.022
10 Thailand Alex Albon Williams 1'27.840 1.207
11 France Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri 1'27.845 1.212
12 France Esteban Ocon Alpine 1'27.891 1.258
13 Japan Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri 1'27.991 1.358
14 Poland Robert Kubica Alfa Romeo 1'28.064 1.431
15 United States Logan Sargeant Williams 1'28.098 1.465
16 Denmark Kevin Magnussen Haas 1'28.142 1.509
17 Brazil Pietro Fittipaldi Haas 1'28.204 1.571
18 Mexico Patricio O'Ward McLaren 1'28.350 1.717
19 Australia Jack Doohan Alpine 1'28.484 1.851
20 Brazil Felipe Drugovich Aston Martin 1'28.672 2.039

Abu Dhabi GP - FP2 results:

Cla Driver Chassis Time Gap
1 Netherlands Max Verstappen Red Bull 1'25.146  
2 United Kingdom George Russell Mercedes 1'25.487 0.341
3 Monaco Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1'25.599 0.453
4 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1'25.761 0.615
5 Mexico Sergio Perez Red Bull 1'25.852 0.706
6 Spain Carlos Sainz Ferrari 1'25.932 0.786
7 France Esteban Ocon Alpine 1'26.038 0.892
8 Spain Fernando Alonso Alpine 1'26.043 0.897
9 Australia Daniel Ricciardo McLaren 1'26.124 0.978
10 Finland Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo 1'26.300 1.154
11 United Kingdom Lando Norris McLaren 1'26.377 1.231
12 Germany Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin 1'26.395 1.249
13 China Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo 1'26.479 1.333
14 Canada Lance Stroll Aston Martin 1'26.547 1.401
15 Japan Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri 1'26.680 1.534
16 Thailand Alex Albon Williams 1'26.750 1.604
17 Germany Mick Schumacher Haas 1'26.839 1.693
18 Denmark Kevin Magnussen Haas 1'26.915 1.769
19 France Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri 1'27.036 1.890
20 Canada Nicholas Latifi Williams 1'27.262 2.116
Related Stories
2022 F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix – How to watch, start time & more
The 2022 Formula 1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix takes place this Sunday on November 20. Here's how you can watch the final round of the 2022 F1 season.
From analysis to the latest developments in health, read the most diverse news in one place.
F1 Abu Dhabi GP qualifying - Start time, how to watch & more
Max Verstappen topped the times on Friday for Red Bull ahead of the Formula 1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. Here’s how and when to watch qualifying.
F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix – Start time, starting grid, how to watch, & more
Max Verstappen will start from pole position after topping qualifying for the Formula 1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. Here's how and when you can watch the race.
What we learned from Friday practice at F1’s 2022 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix
Although there's nothing much left to play for in Formula 1's 2022 finale, the battle over second between Sergio Perez and Charles Leclerc is finely poised - with the two on equal points. But practice showed that, despite hints of good qualifying pace at Ferrari, Leclerc might find overhauling Perez…
F1: Champion Max Verstappen wins Abu Dhabi Grand Prix for Red Bull – as it happened
Max Verstappen won the season finale while Charles Leclerc sealed second place in the drivers’ championship
One place to find news on any topic, from hundreds of sites.
How to watch F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix qualifying: TV channel and live stream for today’s final session
F1 LIVE!