Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
USA Today Sports Media Group
USA Today Sports Media Group
Adam Stites

Every No. 17 overall NFL draft pick since 2000

The Jacksonville Jaguars are currently set to pick 17th in the 2024 NFL draft after a 9-8 season left them just outside the 14-team playoff field.

A trade to move up the draft order could make sense, or maybe the Jaguars would again be interested in sliding back after doing so twice in the first round of the 2023 NFL draft. But for now, Jacksonville is slated to make its pick right in the middle of the first round next month.

So what kind of value can the Jaguars expect out of that draft slot? The team has never before made a selection in the five-pick span between Nos. 14 and 18 overall.

Here is every player that has been picked with the No. 17 overall selection in the NFL draft since the turn of the century:

2000: K Sebastian Janikowski, Oakland Raiders

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

2001: G Steve Hutchinson, Seattle Seahawks

Scott Heckel/Canton Repository

2002: DB Phillip Buchanon, Oakland Raiders

Peter Brouillet-USA Today Network

2003: WR Bryant Johnson, Arizona Cardinals

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

2004: LB D.J. Williams, Denver Broncos

Chris Humphreys-USA TODAY Sports

2005: LB David Pollack, Cincinnati Bengals

Howard Smith-USA TODAY Sports

2006: LB Chad Greenway, Minnesota Vikings

Brace Hemmelgarn-USA TODAY Sports

2007: DE Jarvis Moss, Denver Broncos

Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

2008: OT Gosder Cherlius, Detroit Lions

Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

2009: QB Josh Freeman, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

2010: G Mike Iupati, San Francisco 49ers

Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

2011: OT Nate Solder, New England Patriots

Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

2012: CB Dre Kirkpatrick, Cincinnati Bengals

Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports

2013: LB Jarvis Jones, Pittsburgh Steelers

Ken Blaze-USA TODAY Sports

2014: LB C.J. Mosley, Baltimore Ravens

Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

2015: DL Arik Armstead, San Francisco 49ers

Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

2016: S Keanu Neal, Atlanta Falcons

Denny Medley-USA TODAY Sports

2017: DL Jonathan Allen, Washington

Joe Nicholson-USA TODAY Sports

2018: S Derwin James, Los Angeles Chargers

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

2019: DT Dexter Lawrence, New York Giants

Vincent Carchietta-USA TODAY Sports

2020: WR CeeDee Lamb, Dallas Cowboys


2021: OL Alex Leatherwood, Las Vegas Raiders

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

2022: G Zion Johnson, Los Angeles Chargers

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

2023: CB Christian Gonzalez, New England Patriots

Eric Canha-USA TODAY Sports
Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.