Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
USA Today Sports Media Group
USA Today Sports Media Group
Glenn Erby

Eagles’ Nick Sirianni snubbed in NFL Coach of the Year voting

The Associated Press started off Wednesday morning announcing award candidates and it was revealed that Brian Daboll, Doug Pederson, and Kyle Shanahan are the finalists for The Associated Press 2022 NFL Coach of the Year award.

Even after leading his team to 14 wins and the No. 1 overall seed in the NFC, Eagles head coach Nick Sirianni was an obvious snub despite having his photo used in the press release and build-up.

Daboll led the Giants to a 9-7-1 record in his first season as head coach. Former Eagles head coach Doug Pederson guided the Jacksonville Jaguars to a 9-8 record and an AFC South title in his first year with the team.

While Kyle Shanahan led the San Francisco 49ers to a 13-4 mark, including 5-0 down the stretch with third-string rookie quarterback Brock Purdy.

The winners will be announced at NFL Honors on Feb. 9. A nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the league completed voting before the start of the playoffs.

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.