Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
Irish Independent
Irish Independent
Michael Verney

Tipperary and Offaly feature strongly on Minor Team of the Year as Adam Screeney named Player of the Year

Adam Screeney was a key player for Offaly in 2022. Image credit: Sportsfile.

All-Ireland winners Tipperary and beaten finalists Offaly each have four players on this year's Electric Ireland Minor Hurling Team of the Year with Faithful sharpshooter Adam Screeney named as Player of the Year.

Tipp broke Offaly hearts with a late smash and grab to clinch All-Ireland honours last month and goal-scoring hero Paddy McCormack is represented alongside team-mates Sam O’Farrell (captain), Adam Daly and Tom Delaney.

Screeney, who fired 5-51 in a magical campaign as a 22-year Leinster MHC famine was ended, leads the Offaly quartet alongside Kilcormac/Killoughey clubmate James Mahon, defender Donal Shirley and Faithful skipper Dan Ravenhill.

Galway are represented with goalkeeper Donagh Fahy, midfielder Rory Burke and exciting attacker Aaron Niland while Clare have two players featured with corner-back Eoghan Gunning and No 6 James Hegarty also selected.

The remaining two spots are filled by the Laois pair of Ciarán Flynn and Ben Deegan after the O'Moore men had a memorable campaign which included an historic Leinster semi-final victory over Kilkenny.

2022 Electric Ireland Minor Hurling Team of the Year

1. Donagh Fahy (Galway and Ardrahan)

2. Ciarán Flynn (Laois and The Harps)

3. James Mahon (Offaly and Kilcormac-Killoughey)

4. Eoghan Gunning (Clare and Broadford)

5. Sam O’Farrell (Tipperary and Nenagh Éire Óg)

6. James Hegarty (Clare and Inagh-Kilnamona)

7. Donal Shirley (Offaly and Tubber)

8. Rory Burke (Galway and Oranmore/Maree)

9. Adam Daly (Tipperary and Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams)

10. Ben Deegan (Laois and Camross)

11. Dan Ravenhill (Offaly and Durrow)

12. Paddy McCormack (Tipperary and Borris-Ileigh)

13. Aaron Niland (Galway and Clarinbridge)

14. Tom Delaney (Tipperary and Cahir)

15. Adam Screeney (Offaly and Kilcormac-Killoughey)

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.