Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
Irish Independent
Irish Independent

National Television Awards 2022: Stars dazzle on the red carpet as Cillian Murphy wins big

Dermot O'Leary and Alison Hammond attending the National Television Awards 2022 held at the OVO Arena Wembley in London. Photo: Ian West/PA Wire

The best in TV is being honoured at the National Television Awards 2022.

Nominees were announced in August, with Peaky Blinders, Heartstopper and Bridgerton all receiving multiple nods.

Voting for the NTAs closed hours ahead of the ceremony, which was broadcast on ITV on Thursday (13 October).

Among those in contention included This Morning’s Alison Hammond, as well as Bradley Walsh, Graham Norton and Ant & Dec, who won in 2021 for the 20th year in a row.

Shaun Wallace, Darragh Ennis, Anne Hegerty, Bradley Walsh, Jenny Ryan and Mark Labbett in the press room after winning the Quiz Game Show award at the National Television Awards 2022 held at the OVO Arena Wembley in London. Photo: Ian West/PA Wire (SWIPE FOR MORE PHOTOS)

Elsewhere, drama series such as Bridgerton, Peaky Blinders and Heartstopper celebrated nominations in their show categories, as well as for individual stars: Charithra Chandran and Jonathan Bailey for Bridgerton, Cillian Murphy for Peaky Blinders and Kit Connor and Joe Locke for Heartstopper.

You can find the winners list below as the evening progresses.

New Drama

Trigger Point – WINNER


This Is Going to Hurt


Talent Show

Britain’s Got Talent

The Masked Singer

Video of the Day

RuPaul’s Drag Race UK

Strictly Come Dancing – WINNER

Authored Documentary

Tom Parker: Inside My Head

Julia Bradbury: Breast Cancer and Me

Kate Garraway: Caring for Derek – WINNER

Katie Price: What Harvey Did Next

Paddy and Christine McGuinness: Our Family and Autism

Returning Drama

Call the Midwife

Peaky Blinders – WINNER

The Split


TV Presenter

Alison Hammond

Graham Norton

Ant & Dec – WINNER

Bradley Walsh

Factual Entertainment

Clarkson’s Farm

Gogglebox – WINNER 

The Great British Bake Off

Paul O’Grady: For the Love of Dogs

Drama Performance

Cillian Murphy as Thomas Shelby, Peaky Blinders – WINNER

Jonathan Bailey as Anthony Bridgerton, Bridgerton

Nicola Walker as Hannah, The Split

Vicky McClure as Lana Washington, Trigger Point

The Bruce Forsyth Entertainment Award

Ant & Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway

I’m A Celebrity… Get Me Out Of Here! – WINNER


The Graham Norton Show

Serial Drama

Coronation Street


Emmerdale – WINNER



Jay Blades

Kaleb Cooper

Martin Lewis – WINNER

Sir David Attenborough

Serial Drama Performance

Gillian Wright as Jean Slater, EastEnders

Mark Charnock as Marlon Dingle, Emmerdale – WINNER

Paige Sandhu as Meena Jutla, Emmerdale

Rose Ayling-Ellis as Frankie Lewis, EastEnders

Quiz Game Show

Beat the Chasers – WINNER

In for a Penny

Michael McIntyre’s The Wheel

The 1% Club

Rising Star

Charithra Chandran as Edwina Sharma, Bridgerton

Joe Locke as Charlie Spring, Heartstopper

Kit Connor as Nick Nelson, Heartstopper

Paddy Bever as Max Turner, Coronation Street – WINNER


Loose Women

The Chase

The Repair Shop

This Morning – WINNER 


After Life – WINNER 

Derry Girls

Not Going Out

Sex Education

Talent Show Judge

Anton Du Beke – WINNER

David Walliams

Mo Gilligan


Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.