Get all your news in one place.
100’s of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
Irish Independent
Irish Independent
Cian Tracey Twitter Email

Leinster’s Ross Byrne gets nod as Sexton and Furlong ruled out for Champions Cup opener against Racing 92

Tadhg Furlong of Leinster

Johnny Sexton has been ruled out of Leinster's Heineken Champions Cup opener against Racing 92 in Le Havre tomorrow, as Ross Byrne continues to deputise at out-half.

Sexton has not yet recovered from the calf issue that hampered him on Ireland duty last month.

Leinster have been dealt another major blow ahead of their trip to France, as Tadhg Furlong's troublesome ankle sees him also miss out.

Michael Ala'alatoa replaces Furlong, with Cian Healy providing tighthead cover on the bench.

Ryan Baird is rewarded for his good showing in last weekend's win over Ulster, as he starts in the back-row at the expense of Jack Conan, who has to make do with a place on the bench.

Garry Ringrose continues as captain in the centre, alongside Charlie Ngatai, while Jason Jenkins partners James Ryan in the second-row.

The versatile Jamie Osborne is in line to make his European debut from the bench.


15. Max Spring, 14. Christian Wade, 13. Francis Saili, 12. Gael Fickou (c), 11. Juan Imhoff, 10. Finn Russell, 9. Nolann Le Garrec, 1. Eddy Ben Arous, 2. Camille Chat, 3. Cedate Gomes Sa, 4. Cameron Woki, 5. Fabien Sanconnie, 6. Wenceslas Lauret, 7. Ibrahim Diallo, 8. Maxime Baudonne.

Replacements: 16. Janick Tarrit, 17. Hassane Kolingar, 18. Trevor Nyakane, 19. Anton Bresler, 20. Boris Palu, 21. Baptiste Chouzenoux, 22. Antoine Gibert, 23. Olivier Klemenczak,


15. Hugo Keenan, 14. Jimmy O'Brien, 13. Garry Ringrose (c), 12. Charlie Ngatai, 11. James Lowe, 10. Ross Byrne, 9. Jamison Gibson-Park, 1. Andrew Porter, 2. Dan Sheehan, 3. Michael Ala'alatoa, 4. Jason Jenkins, 5. James Ryan, 6. Ryan Baird, 7. Josh van der Flier, 8. Caelan Doris.

Replacements: 16. Ronan Kelleher, 17. Ed Byrne, 18. Cian Healy, 19. Ross Molony, 20. Jack Conan, 21. Luke McGrath, 22. Harry Byrne, 23. Jamie Osborne,

Referee: Luke Pearce (England)

AR1: Harry Walbaum (England)

AR2: John Meredith (England)

TMO: Andrew Jackson (England)

Broadcasters: beIN SPORTS / BT Sport / SuperSport / FloRugby

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100’s of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.